Dr. Janet Milne 

Academic position

Director, Environmental Tax Policy Institute, Professor of Law


Law School


Vermont University

Contact details

164 Chelsea St, PO Box 96

 South Royalton, VT 05068


+1 802-831-1266


[email protected]

Professor Janet E. Milne is recognized internationally as an expert in environmental tax policies. The courses she has taught at Vermont Law School include Environmental Tax Policy, Income Tax, Land Use Law, Land and Takings, and Property.

After receiving her BA degree, magna cum laude, from Williams College in 1973, Professor Milne served as field director, then associate director, for the Maine Coast Heritage Trust, a land conservation organization. She received her JD degree in 1981, magna cum laude, from Georgetown University Law Center, where she served as lead case and notes editor of the Georgetown Law Journal. After clerking for the Honorable Frank M. Coffin, chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit in Portland, Maine, she served as an attorney for The Washington Post. She subsequently was a tax attorney with the Washington law firm of Covington and Burling. She then became the legislative assistant to U.S. Sen. Lloyd Bentsen, handling tax, trade, and health care issues falling within the senator's jurisdiction as chair of the Senate Finance Committee. 

Returning to New England, Professor Milne served as special counsel to Dartmouth Medical School from 1994 to 1999 and as consultant to the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation from 1995 to 2001. In 1995, she researched Germany's environmental taxes as a fellow of the American Council on Germany, and she joined the VLS faculty as a visiting professor. In 2000, she created the Environmental Tax Policy Institute, and in 2002 she organized and hosted the third annual Global Conference on Environmental Taxation. She co-sponsored the Fourth through Ninth Conferences in 2003 through 2008. She has been a member of the American Bar Association Tax Section's Environmental Taxes Committee (now the Energy and Environmental Taxes Committee) since 1994 and was the committee's vice chair for important developments until 2007.